Migraine and Exercise?

Yesterday, I was suffering from a powerful migraine. I believe it was a lack of sleep and too much caffeine induced headache. It left me with an all too familiar decision to make. Should I go to the gym? Would I even be able to complete my workout? Is it worth it?

You know how it is. We often find ourselves looking for excuses not to go to the gym…to take an extra one day break. A migraine seems to be a valid excuse. It hurts and with a heavy exercise weight lifting routine, it doesn’t really get any lighter or better. It wasn’t the first time that a migraine was behind my attending gym dilemma. More often than not, I decide to go anyway. Yesterday, I decided to go to the gym and exercise as if nothing felt like my head would explode…stick to my bench press, dumbbell press, bicep curling routine.

As you can imagine, it definitely didn’t get rid of the migraine. In fact, every time I lifted a rep, an explosion went off in my head. By the end of my workout, I felt really nauseous with an exploding head. I need a really good reason not to go to the gym and a migraine just isn’t one. It takes a lot of fight to actually get to the gym under such circumstances, but we just got to do what we got to do. Even with the nausea and exploding head, I left the gym happy that I had completed my full exercise routine for the day (well maybe slightly slower than usual, but I completed it).

However, I wondered whether it was, in fact, counter-productive, unhealthy, or even dangerous. So this morning I did a quick Internet search. I didn’t manage to find an exact answer to my original question, but I found some cool and interesting results that I thought I’d share:

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/11/14/really-the-claim-exercise-can-ward-off-migraines/?_php=true&_type=blogs&_r=0

http://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=51909

http://www.fitday.com/fitness-articles/fitness/exercises/exercising-with-a-migraine.html#b

http://www.migrainetrust.org/factsheet-exercise-and-migraine-10714

http://www.nytimes.com/health/guides/disease/migraine/print.html

Apparently, it seems to be the consensus that heavy exercise can cause migraines and a light exercise routine can have the averse effect and actually soothe one’s migraine…inspiration. Well, I inferred that doing my usual heavy routine probably wasn’t such a good idea. But what can I do? What’s done is done and it probably won’t stop me in the future either (unless I get a 100% medical conclusion that it is dangerous of course… which I will definitely share)

2 thoughts on “Migraine and Exercise?

  1. Migraine is definitely a good reason not to be productive. It really does disrupt our daily activity. Glad I can help. Please do share your results as I would like to see how much it helps as well.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the information. I definitely like to use migraines as a reason not to be productive. It is good to know that light exercise may help. I will try it out next time and let you know the result.:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

