National Eating Disorder Awareness Week

Food, predominantly eating food has long been understood to be correlated with mood and emotion, hence the evolution and issue of the eating disorder. In other words, eating disorders do not necessarily stem from one’s body image in comparison to others, being underweight, overweight, or even health and fitness. Essentially, eating disorders are often rooted far deeper mentally and emotionally. As the fitness craze has grown, considerable focus has been put on the overweight, signifying that obesity is almost the end all and be all of eating disorders when in reality there are other forms of eating disorders which often go unnoticed such as anorexia and its different forms because it doesn’t always show physically. And when it does show physically, the cause can be misconstrued as one’s desire to look physically cover model slim or fit (see – http://elitedaily.com/life/culture/anorexia-actually-since-certainly-not-just-wanting-thin/909771/ ). The depth of the disorder then often goes unnoticed and, therefore, unchecked.

Personally, my fitness journey took me from extreme overweight, overeating, comfort and binge eating to extreme weight loss, under eating, and borderline eating disorder. I had lost over one hundred pounds and I had to make sure that I wouldn’t put even a single pound of it back on. If I would eat an apple, everyone around me would know. I wouldn’t shut up about it for hours. It felt like the only way I could control my weight and therefore life was by eating less and less, and talking about anything that I did eat so as to make myself okay with it. Thankfully, it didn’t go too far and I understood, with the help of those close to me, what was beginning to happen to me. It took time to understand that at either end there is an extreme, and extremes can be dangerous. It was the extreme that made me realize that I had to change my mindset and my focus as I wrote in my Throw Back Thursday; The Journey Continues post. Eating disorders are no joke. They are immensely painful for one who is sadly living with it. Even on its borderline it was mentally painful, and it’s hard to imagine how much worse it could get.

As it is NEDA or #NEDAwareness week , take a moment to read and learn something even small about eating disorders and share this knowledge to raise awareness. See link http://nedawareness.org/

Leave a Reply

